Local School Board Members Attend Education Conference

Local School Board Members Attend Education Conference

May 8, 2017

Henry County School Board Chairman Curtis Millner Sr. and member-at-large Joe DeVault attended the Virginia School Boards Association’s Hot Topic Conference on May 3 in Wytheville, VA. The focus of the conference was hot topics in education, including teacher shortages and risk management. Co-hosted with the West Virginia School Board Association, the event brought together school board members, superintendents, higher education administrators, and other educational leaders from across Virginia and West Virginia. 

Presentations included Teachers Shortages, Recruitment and Retention; a panel discussion on the Teacher Shortage; Reductions in Workforce; and The Importance of School Board Support When it Comes to Risk Management. 

Participants heard from a variety of experts, including the Assistant Superintendent of Teacher Education and Licensure with the Virginia Department of Education, an attorney from McGuireWoods LLP, the founder of Safety in Schools, and Henry County Public Schools superintendent Dr. Jared Cotton and his colleagues Jeff Perry (Wythe) and Keith Perrigan (Bristol), who spoke on the challenges of recruiting and retaining highly qualified professionals who represent the diverse members of rural school communities.

Many public school divisions will be challenged to find certified teachers, especially in high-need areas such as math, science, foreign language, special education, and counseling, as well as speech therapists, psychologists, occupational therapists, and physical therapists as they work to fill vacancies for the 2017-2018 school year.

About the Virginia School Boards Association
Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth’s educational leaders.


Select News Year: